"Me Time!"

Yes, there is life outside of work!!! Let's go!

Of Cats and Dog

on March 5, 2013

Of Cats and Dog

I used to be a dog person. Now, I’m confused.

Dashy

My dog, Dash, is a daschund-cocker spaniel mix. He’s now 8 years old and as playful and as sweet as when he was a puppy. He was my “happy pill”. Then along came Luna the cat.

Luna

Luna was given to me by a friend in exchange for a bag of Whiskas. He had three Siamese cats, a male and two females, which equated to “kitten factory”. Luna was a fluffy all-white kitty with sparkly blue eyes. I was in love! I bought catfood, a litter box, a carrier, some milk, and a pretty blue collar to put on my kitty’s neck. I gave Luna some milk as a welcome home treat. A few hours later, Luna started gagging and vomiting. Like a first time mom, I panicked and immediately went to the 24-hour vet at 11 p.m. My kitty looked so weak and didn’t move much. My eyes were brimming with tears… The vet said, “Oh, that’s okay… cats can’t tolerate cow’s milk. Your kitten’s fine. See, your kitten is grooming.” And immediately, Luna stopped grooming and seemed to look at me to say, “Wut?!” Cha-ching!!! A thousand and five hundred pesos down the drain. At least Luna was fine.

Luna was such a pretty cat… until a few weeks later. “Are those… balls?!” Oh. Luna was a boy. What a HANDSOME cat. And what a unique character he was. He was literally a grumpy cat. I could only cuddle or pet him for 5 minutes then he would start to bite or claw at me. His general disposition was “annoyed”. Nonetheless, I was hooked.

Fast forward two years later, my friend asked me if I wanted another kitten. Hmm, maybe Luna was grumpy ’cause he felt lonely… OR, maybe all the loud meowing was because he needed a mate! I said, “Okay, but can I have a girl cat?”

SkyProfileSky. She has a brown mask, brown ears, a brown tail, and brown booties. What a sweetheart! She is the exact opposite of Luna. She always wants to be picked up and cuddled, she waits beside Dash to welcome me home, she weaves through my legs when I walk, she purrs happily and meows ever so sweetly when I hold her, and even groomed me a couple of times!

The happy, the grumpy, and the sweet. What a nice balance. Dog person or a cat person? It doesn’t really matter. All we need is LUUURRRV. Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

