"Me Time!"

Yes, there is life outside of work!!! Let's go!

Welcome, Summer!!!

on March 4, 2013

Our picWell, hello summer!!! In the Philippines, you know it’s summer when:  1.  You are more sweaty than usual, just after walking a couple of feet from your house.  2.  Perspiration runs down your neck a few minutes after your bath.  3.  You burn your buttocks by sitting on the seat of your car after it has stayed out in the sun for 30 minutes.  4.  You feel the need to wear lighter (or less) clothing, sunglasses, and flipflops.  5.  You feel the urgent desire of drinking a cold glass of soft drink or eating ice cream/halo-halo (shaved ice, milk, and boiled fruits).

Of course, summer means only one thing… it’s time for out-of-town trips to the beach or to cooler areas like Tagaytay or Baguio.  So, my very significant other (henceforth will be referred to as JY), our friends, and I decided to have a road trip to nearby Laguna for some cooling off.  After a 1-1/2-hour drive from Manila, we arrived in Calamba, Laguna.  Since we did not have any reservation, we drove around to check out some private pools.  We chose a quaint little place with 3 rooms,  a small pool, a mini kitchen, a barbecue grill, and a videoke machine (yes, we all loved to sing!).  Because of our expert haggling skills, the rent came down to just Php 5,000 for an overnight stay.  What a steal!!!

The very first thing I did was… I took a nap.  Yes, how exciting but well, that’s me in my chill mode.  Don’t judge me.   When I woke up, JY was finished grilling the pork skewers, Diane was done cooking binagoongan, Julius was delivering the first set of his concert at the videoke, and our other friends were already swimming.  But of course, any party would not be complete without drinks (if you know what I mean!).  I gobbled up my share of the food, coughed out a couple of songs, and quickly jumped into the pool.  After a couple of laps, I floated on my back and gazed at Mr. Moon.  There was a soft glow around him with wisps of clouds flitting by.  If that wasn’t relaxing, then I don’t know what is!

Our little party lasted until the wee hours of the morning.  The funny thing with this kind of parties is that it’s a cycle.  Eat-lounge about-chat a little-sing-swim-eat…  When no one was making any sense anymore, we decided to give in to sleep (to me it felt like just another nap!).

And just like any vacation, it was over all too soon.  But no worries, I felt fully recharged and ready to get back to the grind on Monday.

Chill time complete.

One response to “Welcome, Summer!!!

  1. Ethel says:

    I didn’t know you love writing….nice piece😊

Leave a Reply

